Kenya - El Nino Infrastructure Rehabilitation Project

Project Summary

Approval Date 12 Nov 1998
Signature Date 29 Jan 1999
Planned Completion Date 31 Dec 2002
Last Disbursement Planned Date 31 Dec 2002
Sovereign / Non-Sovereign Sovereign
Sector Multi-Sector
DAC Sector Code 73010
Environmental Category 2
Commitment U.A 7,092,509.9
Status Completion

Project General Description

The El Nino Infrastructure Rehabilitation Project is conceived in response to the unusually heavy rainfall that occurred between 1997 and 1998. These falls caused severe flooding with impacts in 46 of the country's 61 districts. The project was intended primarily to support Government initiatives to mitigate the severe effects of floods on the water and road infrastructure sectors. The project aims at the rehabilitation of hydraulic and road infrastructures of the affected areas in the provinces of West, Nyanza and East. It should result in the rehabilitation and capacity building of water supply systems in nearly thirty-three (33) cities, as well as in the rehabilitation of access to cities and towns through rehabilitation of roads. The main components of the project are: (i) the supply of chemicals; (ii) the replacement of components of the national water resources control network; (iii) replacement and repair of components and equipment of the water supply system, and (iv) rehabilitation of 74 different categories of roads.

Project Objectives

The overall objective of the project is to restore vital socio-economic infrastructure in order to counteract the effects of the “El-Nino” on the adversely affected population groups in Kenya.


The main beneficiaries of the project are the affected areas in the western, Nyanza and eastern provinces.

Participating Organization

African Development Fund
Government Of Kenya
EL NINO Emergency Project (ENEP)


IATI identifier 46002-P-KE-KE0-001
Last Update 30 Nov 2022


Contact Details

Name JALLOW Sering Baboucarr

Geographic Location

Country Kenya
Coordinates Location Name
0.5 34.5833 Western Province
-0.5 34.5 Nyanza Province
3.093 38.844 Moyale District
3 37.5 Marsabit District
0 37.518 Meru Central District
0.23 37.93 Meru North District
1 38.75 Isiolo District
1.75 40.25 Wajir District