Sierra Leone - Technical Assistance and Capacity Building support to support minerals and extractive revenues governance


Résumé du projet

Date d'approbation 20 déc. 2013
Date de signature 25 avr. 2014
Date prévue d'achèvement 30 juin 2019
Date prévue du dernier décaissement 30 juin 2019
Souverain / Non-Souverain Souverain
Secteur Multisecteur
Code secteur DAC 15124
Engagement U.A 1 200 000
Statut Annulé

Description générale du projet

Le présent projet d'assistance technique vise à améliorer l’administration des recettes des industries extractives afin d’améliorer la transparence et la responsabilité dans les industries extractives. Le projet aidera la Sierra Leone et les États membres de l’Union du fleuve Mano (UFM) (Libéria, Guinée et Côte d'Ivoire) à approfondir leurs connaissances de la dynamique régionale des industries extractives par le biais d’une étude sur l'harmonisation fiscale régionale des régimes de taxation du secteur minier. Les interventions du projet s'articulent autour des deux composantes interdépendantes suivantes : Composante 1 - Création d’une Unité de revenu des industries extractives (EIRU) : cette composante vise à fournir une assistance technique pour la création d'une Unité de recettes des industries extractives (EIRU) au sein de l'Autorité nationale des recettes fiscales (National Revenue Authority ou NRA) ; Composante 2 - Mise en place d’un cadre d'analyse comparative pour la Charte des ressources naturelles de la Sierra Leone (NRC) : cette composante vise à aider le gouvernement sierra leonais à mener une analyse comparative globale et inclusive qui favorisera la bonne gouvernance et la responsabilisation à l'égard des ressources naturelles.

Objectifs du projet

L'objectif général du projet est de renforcer les capacités institutionnelles de l'Autorité nationale des recettes fiscales (NRA), de l'Agence nationale des minéraux (NMA), du Ministère des mines et des ressources (MMR), et du Ministère des finances et du développement économique (MoFED) afin d’améliorer la gouvernance des ressources naturelles et le recouvrement des recettes.

Bénéficiaires

Les principaux bénéficiaires de ce projet sont le Gouvernement de la Sierra Leone et les gouvernements des trois autres États membres de l'UFM qui comprendront mieux les avantages de l'harmonisation de leurs régimes fiscaux. En outre, le Secrétariat de l'UFM acquerra une expertise qui lui permettra de coordonner l'harmonisation des régimes de taxation des minerais des pays membres de l'UFM. Ses autres principaux bénéficiaires directs et indirects seront la NRA, la NMA, et le MoFED. D'autres ministères, le secteur privé (y compris les entreprises opérant dans les industries extractives et les mineurs artisanaux), les Organisations de la société civile, ainsi que les citoyens des États membres qui bénéficieront également d’une meilleure gouvernance de leurs ressources naturelles et d’un recouvrement amélioré des recettes.

Organisation participante

Financement
Facilité en Faveur des États Fragiles
Exécution
Ministry of Finance and Economic Development

Information

Identifiant IATI 46002-P-SL-KF0-008
Date de dernière mise à jour 22 sept. 2021

Exporter

Détails du contact

Nom IBRAHIM Amadou
Email i.b.amadou@afdb.org

Emplacement géographique

Pays Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone - Technical Assistance and Capacity Building support to support minerals and extractive revenues governance


Project Summary

Approval Date 20 Dec 2013
Signature Date 25 Apr 2014
Planned Completion Date 30 Jun 2019
Last Disbursement Planned Date 30 Jun 2019
Sovereign / Non-Sovereign Sovereign
Sector Multi-Sector
DAC Sector Code 15110
Commitment U.A 1,200,000
Status Cancelled

Project General Description

The present Technical Assistance Project seeks to enhance the administration of revenue from extractive industries to improve transparency and accountability in the extractive industries. The project will assist Sierra Leone and Mano River Union (MRU) member states (Liberia, Guinea and Côte d'Ivoire) to deepen their knowledge of regional dynamics of the extractive industries through a study on regional fiscal harmonisation of mineral taxation regimes. The project interventions are articulated around two interrelated components that are: Component 1 - Establishment of an Extractive Industry Revenue Unit (EIRU): This component is aimed at providing technical assistance for the establishment of an Extractive Industry Revenue Unit (EIRU) within the National Revenue Authority (NRA); Component 2 - Establishment of a Natural Resource Charter (NRC) Benchmarking Framework for Sierra Leone: This component aims at supporting the Government of Sierra Leone to conduct a comprehensive and inclusive benchmarking exercise that will promote good governance of and accountability for natural resources.

Project Objectives

The overall goal of the project is to strengthen the institutional capacities of the National Revenue Authority (NRA), the National Minerals Agency (NMA), the Ministry of Mines and Mineral Resources (MMR), and the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (MoFED) for enhanced natural resources governance and revenue collection.

Beneficiaries

The principal beneficiaries of this project are the Government of Sierra Leone and Governments of other three member MRU states that will gain some knowledge of the benefits of harmonising their tax regimes. In addition, the MRU Secretariat will acquire some expertise that will enable them to coordinate the harmonisation of MRU member countries' minerals taxation regimes. Its other key direct and indirect beneficiaries will be NRA, NMA, and MoFED. Other government departments, the private sector (including companies operating in the extractive industries and artisanal miners), Civil Society Organisations, as well citizens of the member states who will also benefit from an improved natural resources governance and improved revenue collection.

Participating Organization

Funding
Fragile States Facility
Implementing
Ministry of Finance and Economic Development

Information

IATI identifier 46002-P-SL-KF0-008
Last Update 31 Oct 2019

Export

Contact Details

Name IBRAHIM Amadou
Email i.b.amadou@afdb.org

Geographic Location

Country Sierra Leone