Multinational - Intergovernmental Agency on Development (IGAD) Regional Infrastructure Master Plan (IRIMP) Project

Project Summary

Approval Date 13 Feb 2017
Signature Date 19 May 2017
Planned Completion Date 31 Dec 2021
Last Disbursement Planned Date 31 Dec 2021
Sovereign / Non-Sovereign Sovereign
Sector Multi-Sector
DAC Sector Code 73010
Environmental Category 3
Commitment U.A 2,500,000
Status Completion

Project General Description

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) Regional Infrastructure Master Plan (IRIMP) aims to establish regional priorities for infrastructure development in the IGAD region, with a view to strengthening regional physical and economic integration and thereby promoting trade, the movement of goods and people and poverty reduction in its Member States. The IGAD region consists of eight countries, namely Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda. IRIMP will identify, for investment purposes, priority regional infrastructure projects in the sectors of transport, energy, information and communication technologies (ICT), and transboundary waters. This project, which is scheduled to be implemented over a 38-month period, will have two components: (i) development of the regional master plan and infrastructure financing strategy, and (ii) project management and capacity building. The total cost is estimated at USD 3.69 million, the total cost of the project will be financed by an ADF grant (USD 3.50 million) from the regional operations envelope, resources from the regional public goods window, and counterpart funds from the IGAD secretariat (USD 0.19 million).

Project Objectives

The overall development objective of the project is to establish priorities for regional infrastructure development that will strengthen the physical connectivity and economic integration of the Member States of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), by enhancing economic development, trade, the free movement of goods and people, and poverty reduction.


The direct beneficiaries of the project are all the populations and economies of the eight member States of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) - Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Uganda; in particular businesses, traders, households and investors, but also development partners and international bilateral and multilateral agencies. People in IGAD member countries will benefit from this project by ultimately having well-planned and coordinated regional infrastructure projects and services that will improve traffic efficiency within the region, as well as trade and economic development. Other beneficiaries include Member State governments and the IGAD Secretariat.

Participating Organization

Intergovernmental Agency on Development (IGAD)
African Development Fund


IATI identifier 46002-P-Z1-KE0-016
Last Update 25 Mar 2023


Contact Details

Name Mtchera Johannes CHIRWA

Geographic Location

Country Multinational
Coordinates Location Name
9.02497 38.7469 Addis Ababa
15.55177 32.53241 Khartoum
15.3333 38.9333 Asmara
4.85165 31.5825 Juba
2.03711 45.3438 Mogadishu
0.31628 32.5822 Kampala
11.58901 43.14503 Djibouti
-1.28333 36.83333 Nairobi