South Africa - Medupi Power Project

Project Summary

Approval Date 25 Nov 2009
Signature Date 11 Dec 2009
Planned Completion Date 30 Jun 2021
Last Disbursement Planned Date 30 Jun 2021
Sovereign / Non-Sovereign Sovereign
Sector Power
DAC Sector Code 23260
Environmental Category 1
Commitment U.A 1,178,878,563.54
Status Completion

Project General Description

Medupi power project will stabilise the electricity trade in the Southern Africa Region. It consists of the construction of a coal-fired base load power plant in Lephalale, Limpopo Province, comprising of six units with an installed capacity of 4,764 MW. Although the project is located in Limpopo province, the project will feed into national electricity grid and the entire country will reap benefits through reliable power supply. The construction of the power plant commenced in May 2008. The first unit will be commissioned by February 2012, and each subsequent unit will be commissioned at an interval of six months. The plant will deploy the super-critical boiler technology with increased plant efficiency, reduced coal consumption and reduced CO2 emissions. These units are planned as direct dry-cooled units such as those at the existing Matimba power station, thereby reducing water consumption requirement in significant ways compared to wet cooling technology. The project is estimated to cost Euro 11.19 billion.

Project Objectives

The objective of the Project is to increase the country’s generation capacity and improve reserve margin in order to adequately, efficiently and reliably serve electricity demand in the country and in the Southern Africa Region.


Since Eskom’s power system is an influential part of the Southern Africa Power Pool, the entire Southern Africa will benefit from the project.

Participating Organization

Government Of South Africa
African Development Bank


IATI identifier 46002-P-ZA-FAA-001
Last Update 25 Mar 2023


Contact Details

Name Seaga Abram MOLEPO

Geographic Location

Country South Africa
Coordinates Location Name
-23.7 27.55 Medupi Power Station